top of page


The American Geographical Society (AGS) announced today that Mr. Jesse Ausubel, Dr. D. James Baker, and Dr. Jeffrey Sachs have been selected to receive American Geographical Society Honorary Fellowship.

The Honorary Fellowships are bestowed on individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of geography. Many of the Honorary Fellows are some of the most recognized names in geographical and exploration history.

Mr. Ausubel is an innovative thinker in fields closely aligned to geography. He has long been Director of the Program for the Human Environment at The Rockefeller University and concurrently affiliated with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, formerly as program director and now as science advisor. Mr. Ausubel helped create and complete the decade-long Census of Marine Life, an international program to assess and explain the diversity, distribution, and abundance of life in the oceans. He also co-founded the movement to develop short genetic identifiers, DNA barcodes, for animals, plants, and fungi, and served as founding chair of the Encyclopedia of Life, to develop a webpage for every species. In 2009, he helped established the international Deep Carbon Observatory.


bottom of page