Richard Lounsbery Foundation

Lounsbery Director Named 2012 National Champion of the Ocean

On 26 October 2012, Monmouth University (New Jersey) named Jesse Ausubel the 2012 National Champion of the Ocean. We are honored to join lustrous company and appreciate that the award recognizes the work of the entire Census of Marine Life community. The award ceremony included an excellent seminar organized by Tony MacDonald of the Urban Coastal Institute featuring Admiral (Ret.) Paul Gaffney; Vice Admiral Richard Larrabee, USCG (Ret.), Port Commerce Director, Port Authority of NY/NJ; Lawrence Dickerson, President and CEO, Diamond Offshore Drilling; and Christopher Koch, President and CEO, World Shipping Council. We post Jesse’s talk on “Wealth from the Oceans: Use, Stewardship, and Security.”

National Ocean Champion awardees:

2012 Jesse H. Ausubel, Co-Founder, Census of Marine Life; Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and The Rockefeller University
2011 Jean-Michel Cousteau, Founder, Ocean Futures Society
2010 Carl Safina, President and Co-Founder, Blue Ocean Institute
2009 Lillian C. Borrone, Former Executive Director, Port Authority of NY/NJ
2008 Representative James Saxton (NJ) and Shirley Pomponi, Executive Director, Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute
2007 Jerry Schubel, President and CEO of the Aquarium of the Pacific, and Ted Ames, Director of the Lobster Hatchery in Stonington, Maine
2006 Robert Gagosian, past President and Director of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
2005 Admiral James Watkins, Chair of the U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy and the Honorable Leon Panetta, Chair of the Pew Ocean Commission

The Rockefeller University, November 6, 2012


© 2019 Richard Lounsbery Foundation